It’s a good day for a bowl of soup

Hands up if you agree.

The cooling weather calls for nourishing and comforting soup.But sadly,soups have been wrongly relegated to ‘fattening foods’ status. Done right,soup can fill you up,provide you with great nutrition yet still be low in kilojoule; a win-win if you ask me.

Remember in my post about 2016 being the year of the pulse I promised to share more pulse based recipes? Just the other day I came across this Glowing Spiced Lentil Soup recipe, from one of my favourite vegeterian blogs sheglows, and I cha-cha-ed (my daughter won’t let me dab)  my way to the shop to pick up the 2 ingredients I did not have.

No sooner had I assembled the ingredients in the pot did the house fill up with the spicy frangance of the ingredients.I knew it was going to be a family favourite,and when my seriously carnivore daughter approved and went for seconds,the deal was sealed.

Besides the fact that it is mouthwatering ,here are  5  more reasons why I love this recipe and I will be making this soup throughout winter:

1.It takes 30 min from preperation to table.

2.It has pantry ingredients.Meaning you are most likely going to have most of the ingredients already in your cupboard.

3.It is nutrient rich.The addition of tomatoes,spinach and tumeric is pure genius.

4. It has kick-ass anti inflamatory properties mainly from the tumeric.

5.It’s a complete meal.You can have it on it’s own and be satisfied.

So if you are sitting in your office on this cold day and feeling sad that you can’t have the soup you are craving because you are at work and soup takes time to make,put a smile on your face-I’ve got you.

image
How my soup turned out.The only thing I added to this perfect recipe was a sprinkling of chilli flakes for an extra kick.Yum!

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “It’s a good day for a bowl of soup

      1. ok, found it, thanks you can see I don’t do a lot of blogging 🙂
        but that’s about to change though
        where do you get your low-sodium vegetable broth? think that always make a difference, will the woollies one do

        Like

Leave a Reply

