RESOLUTIONS vs BUCKET LISTS

image

New Year’s resolutions, the term we love to hate. How many of us are still doing what we said we will do from 1 January 2016? It seems like the when January goes, our good intentions disappear to thin air.

Albert Einstein said that insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. He should know something, he was a genius. With this in mind I thought maybe I should change the way I approached 2016. I thought, what if I took time and really looked at my bucket list and then chose something to focus on this year instead of dreaming up a list of resolutions. Nothing is a great motivator than seeing a tick next to something you wanted to do. It brings huge satisfaction and a desire to take more because you actually believe you can achieve it.

I have already shared with you what 2015 taught me  (although the post paid credit to cancer, it was also in essence, about lessons I learnt in 2015).Now I will share with you what is in my bucket list for 2016 going forward. I say going forward because I do not want to feel like an utter failure come Dec 2016 when I do not have ticks next to all items on my list.

Of course this might sound counterproductive. As a Life Coach I can tell you that goals without deadlines are a recipe for disaster. But I won’t. Because my list is fluid, I can add to it anytime I wish and I can take things out that no longer serve me,achieving the things on my list does not feel like a chore but as part of me and my growth. Yes there may be things that I have to do but mainly it is stuff I want to do.

So as of January 2016, this is my list, in no particular order:

1.Live out my head.

I am an over-thinker of note. I turn every situation inside out, back to front and sideways. Now there is nothing wrong with thoroughly researching a subject or activity before jumping in. The problem comes when that research brings up too many obstacles for the actual activity to take place. Fear creeps in and I end up finding more reasons NOT to do it than reasons for the research in the first place.

So my plan is to still do my research, when needed, but quickly move to the action part of the plan. This I plan to do by talking to other people about whatever project or activity I want to participate in. By talking about it I hope that it gets out my head and becomes a real thing. And by sharing it I hope to get real human perspective on the subject, and maybe some experiences or thoughts, from voices other than those in my head.

2. Get my Natural Health qualification

After years of searching, I finally found a course that allows me to use my nutrition background in a more meaningful way that also benefits others. I was meant to start in 2015 but then life happened and I had to put my studies on hold. I am very excited about this and can’t wait to get started.

3. Go on Hikes 

I love open spaces and the outdoors. As soon as the weather cools down I plan to take hikes as often as possible. With hiking I get to exercise and enjoy the beauty of nature, what’s not to like. Some people are fuelled by running, I see hiking as my poison. I have experienced indescribable euphoria after hiking a few mountains. The feeling you get looking back at the terrain you have just conquered is the one I want to experience every day, if not at least once a month on my hiking trips

4.Learn a New Language 

This one has changed so much over the couple of months, it’s now a case of holding myself back and looking at practicalities. A few years ago I dabbled in Spanish. I was doing pretty well but I had no one to practice it with so that died out. When I moved up to Jo’burg I promised myself I will learn another South African language other than isiZulu, my home language. I am happy to say I am doing ok with SeSotho. I can sort of follow a conversation,I just need the courage to get over the embarrassment of being wrong and speak it.

Towards the end of last year I downloaded the language app DUOLINGO and I have been using it to learn French. I also enquired at the French Alliance about their language course. Just as I was settling into French one of my Facebook friend talked about learning Mandarin. This raised my interest because my other job takes me to China and, would it not be great if I can haggle in their language? Yet one of my business ventures could take me to East Africa where Swahili is widely spoken. I’ve always loved Swahili, maybe now is a good time to learn it.

Do you see my dilemma? I have promised myself to have this sorted by end of January. But the goal to learn a foreign language stays on the list.

5. Learn to Swim

If you are a black South African born in the 70s and even the 80s,chances are you never learnt how to swim and you have the most irrational fear of water-or more precisely –drowning. I once saw a 1.8m man almost drown in a kiddie’s pool in water that barely came up to his knees. You see, it’s the fear more than the water that will kill you.

The time of being that person who only gets inside the pool to take photos is over! Watch me swim like a fish.

6.Read More Write More

Every writer, blogger and writing school says to improve your writing you have to do 2 things: 1. READ 2. WRITE.

Since I aspire to be good writer, I have taken this advice and plan to give writing more attention this year.

7.Save Money 

Good habits take a long time to form but a very short time to break. For a long time had a well-established system of saving money but in one stroke of change, I fell behind. From this year I am climbing back on the wagon with gusto. I am planning to also research on the non-traditional ways ,of investing.

8. Be an Early Riser

I’ve always said I am not a morning person and I still am not. However I have challenged myself differently this year. I want to wake up early and do the things that require solitude. To that end I have started setting an alarm to wake me up 2 hours earlier than what I am used to. So far I am enjoying the experience (but I still do not speak before 8h00, which is also an improvement from 9h00). I hope to keep it up during winter.

9. Live Consciously

It is my aim to live with awareness of things around me.t To pay attention to the things that bring me and my loved ones joy so we can repeat the actions and experiences that bring us to a state of happiness.

10. Travel

Travelling is one of my big passions. When I look at the map and I see all the places I have not been I feel a sadness close to how I imagine a person who really wants a pet but does not have one.

I look at the great African continent and it saddens me that I have not travelled her extensively. I dream of visiting exotic islands and romantic Europe. But this year, in my list is parts of the US. If all goes according to plan, I will have that stamp on my passport and a tick in my bucket list.

11. Learn to Dance

For as long as I can remember I have loved dancing. And for the longest time I wanted to take dancing classes and learn to Tango. Ambitious I know. So imagine my joy when not one but two of my friends told me about Salsa sessions here in Jo’burg. I can hardly contain my excitement at the prospect of going to salsa Sundays .

These are some of the things that are in my bucket list that I have chosen to focus on in 2016. They are commitments that I have made to myself willingly and as you see some are fun and some are serious but they all lead to a better Lindi and that is why I will stay motivated to achieve them and add more ticks to my bucket list.

Whether it’s resolutions, plans and goals you have for 2016, I want to hear about them and how you plan to stay motivated until you have reached them. Maybe you have a formula that has worked for you in the past, please share, I’d love to hear from you.

Lindi 💜💜💜

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “RESOLUTIONS vs BUCKET LISTS

  1. Thanks Lindi for inviting us into your world, we are honored. It is also a chance to reflect on our lives and ask serious questions about the direction we have chosen

    Like

Leave a Reply

